Here comes the Sun

http://www.usatoday.com/media/cinematic/video/15445141/solar-flare-might-mean-light-show-for-northern-us-usa-now/

Watch out Earth, here comes the Sun, and you are in the way.

This is far from the usual your weather forecast. Big storms are brewing these one originate from the sun. It’s raining radiation. Now, don’t worry too much. We’re safe, protected by the Earths’s coddling magnetic field. But anything mead the outside of that magnetic shielding does have to watch out. Two large solar eruptions erupted over the last few days. Now the combined energy from two recent solar events will arrive at Earth on Saturday, prompting the Space Weather Prediction Center, Boulder, to issue a strong geomagnetic storm watch but we still are unsure as what this solar storm will do precisely.

“People on the ground really don’t have to worry,” said Lika Guhathakurta, a program scientist with NASA’s Solar Dynamics Observatory. She said soalr storms don’t affect humans on the ground, although astronauts could be at risk. NASA can take steps to protect the crew members on the International Space Station, and satellite operators can turn off sensitive sensors on satellites to mitigate the risk to your smartphones and wi-fi connection. There may be temporary glitches, though, Guhathakurta says.
And if there is a major issue, scientists are taking precautions to make sure all the important parties are prepared.

On the upside, solar storms also create beautiful aurora. So if you have any family in the northern United States who are outside major metropolitan areas they should be out be watching the skies on Thursday and Friday nights. People here in New Mexico are less likely to get the kind of splendid aurora sights that people in the Northeast and Alaska will see, but it might not hurt for them to take a glance at the sky anyway, just in case.

10 comments on “Here comes the Sun

  1. It will be amazing to see the auroras. I have seen pictures of them before and without a doubt its beautiful. I am glad the storms don’t have any effect on us except on minor things like satellites and wifi. Great post!

    Like

  2. These increased solar flares are making the northern lights visible to more people further south than is normally the case. I would love to go check them out; however since these solar flares have the potential to disrupt GPS signals, perhaps I should just stay home so I don’t risk getting lost. ☺

    Like

  3. It would be awesome if it caused the aurora to be visible here in southern New Mexico. I witnessed the aurora a handful of times when I spent a few summers up in Alaska. Absolutely beautiful!

    Like

  4. I first saw this article on CNN, and the headline read “Big Solar Storm Hitting Earth” reading this headline scared me at first, but then I read the article and thought it was very cool. It makes me wished I lived up north so I could see the auroras!

    Like

  5. Its interesting how there are big storms that are originating from the sun with radiation. I know we are protected by the suns magnetic field, but I wonder what is going to happen to NASA astronauts, when ever it hits them. I wonder if NASA were prepared for this kind of stuff? Who knows what the extent of the radiation has, if the crew members on international space station are prepared for.

    Like

  6. This is amazing! It is inspiring to learn about how the sun is a huge impact to everything. Of course I believe that there can be problems outside the earths atmosphere causing satellites to have a few glitches. I would love the experience to see how a solar storm. unfortunately I doth have any family that lives in the northern United States and not enough money to go.

    Like

  7. It amazes me that the solar eruptions already occurred but we are still waiting to see them here on Earth. These eruptions can cause problems for astronauts and satellites and it makes me wonder if we will experience an even bigger eruption that can be dangerous for all of us here on the ground. I’m also curious to find out if solar flares were to reach our atmosphere what kind of damage they might cause.

    Like

  8. I thought it was interesting to hear about this solar flare considering I didn’t know solar flares happened on the sun. Its crazy to think how it my affect satellites and there signals.

    Like

Comments are closed.