The Ocean Moon #Enceladus

6122_pia18435

The probability of intelligent life beyond Earth is very high. Its almost certain. But as space is big, the probability of any two intelligent sets of life on different planets communicating is pretty low.

However, simple life forms may be everywhere. Provide 3 things – water, heat and some nutrition – and life seems to get going pretty quick. One of the best spots for these three things may be Enceladus. This moon of Saturn was long considered a dead world. But new data is showing just how alive it might actually be.

http://www.astronomy.com/news/2017/01/gunk-enceladus-surface

Gunky?

This moon just keeps on providing more and more surprises.

63 comments on “The Ocean Moon #Enceladus

  1. I think it is interesting how they were able to find something that could possibly make it habitable on one of Saturn’s moons Enceladus, even though there is no exact proof that there was something living there it amazing to know that there is a possibility. I also find it amazing how there is so much outstanding information about our universe but yet we are still finding out more, I’m curious to hear about more findings in the universe.

    Like

  2. I found this article quite fascinating and interesting to find out there is potentially life on other planets. I have always wanted to believe there has been and now this is reassuring. I’m excited to learn more about our solar system!

    Like

  3. I’ve always thought our moon was very interesting but knowing this about another planet’s moon makes me more interested in moons overall. This makes me think about potential life out there.

    Like

  4. it is always interesting to see how the universe is so big and even though technology is so advanced there is still so much to discover, very often NASA discovers new thing and that is also a sign of how the world keeps developing.

    Like

  5. It is an extremely exciting thought and makes me even more interested in learning about everything in our solar system. I have always believed that there is life on other planets just waiting to communicate!

    Like

  6. Great read. I have always believed how ignorant people are when they say intelligent life cannot possibly exist anywhere besides earth. How could we live in a universe so vastly huge, and we be the only planet lucky enough to harbor life? Hahahahha SURE.

    Like

  7. I find this article very interesting, if a moon can have water on it, i feel that means its very possible for other life can be out there besides just us. I find that very intresting and it makes me feel very small.

    Like

  8. I’ve always thought that finding out about planets that can support life is exciting. But the thought of one being a moon such as Enceladus interests me even more. Maybe there’s other moons that haven’t been examined in greater detail that are capable of sustaining life as well. I hope to see more regarding this discovery!

    Like

  9. I have always wondered the possibility of life somewhere within our universe or if there was any chance of survival in another planet. However, I never expected such discoveries to be from a planet’s moon though! I hope to see more information about this in the future.

    Like

  10. I find very interesting everything that has to do with discovering new life in our universe, and what’s better than new life within our own solar system. I think it’s incredible if in the near future they could confirm life in the moon Enceladus and have more details about it. Discovering this would be a huge leap on what we know and think of the solar system we live in.

    Laura Trejo

    laurat11@nmsu.edu3

    Like

  11. This is is very exciting to read because I have normally just assumed that the likelihood of life on another planet was low, but it actually is high. Getting information like this expands the possibilities of what we think can happen beyond Earth.

    Like

Comments are closed.