The search for planets with oxygen #HabitableZone #exoplanets

https://www.nasa.gov/feature/goddard/2017/nasa-finds-planets-of-red-dwarf-stars-may-face-oxygen-loss-in-habitable-zones

The search for life around other stars is essentially a search for a habitable zone – the area around a star where the distance is warm enough to sustain liquid water on the surface, but cold enough such that the water does not boil away or escape.

This definition of habitable zone now has to change to take into account the star itself. New research shows that winds coming off Red Giant stars can strip the planet of Oxygen. No Oxygen, no life. This means that our nearest confirmed Earth-sized exoplanet, around Proxima Centauri and only 4 light-years away, is not a good spot to go look for neighbors.

“If we want to find an exoplanet that can develop and sustain life, we must figure out which stars make the best parents,” said Vladimir Airapetian, lead author of the paper and a solar scientist at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center. “We’re coming closer to understanding what kind of parent stars we need.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

63 comments on “The search for planets with oxygen #HabitableZone #exoplanets

  1. Life in other planets i believe has forever been something that a lot of us are interested in. Although getting there is still some time from now, it is more than amazing finding out that we are getting closer and closer to these discoveries.

    Like

  2. Amy Gulczynski:

    I think this is a very interesting post, especially because I didn’t think there could be habitable planets other than ours. I feel like it will not be easy to find but if we keep researching maybe we will find something!! Its all mind blowing to think about, the endless possibilities of what could be.

    Like

  3. As I reflect on this article I wonder if there will be any major breaks in these kinds of discoveries in my lifetime. I’m hopeful that such breaks will occur and that my lifetime can be as exciting as the people who were able to see a man-made object being sent into space for the first time.

    Like

  4. Reading this article made me really interested and fascinated. I think it’s pretty awesome that there is hope for life that exists outside of earth! Space and other planets have always interest me and I’m excited to learn more about them.

    Like

  5. It is unbelievable how big our universe is. There is still a lot of research ahead of us to do, and I hope that in my time being alive, I will get to see humans either discovering or colonizing another planet. Knowing that other planets might be able to host life is awesome, it’s crazy to think that we are alone.

    Like

  6. It is cool to see he amount of research being done to find new life. It is become easier to do so as well. Knowing there can be life, i find amusing.

    Like

  7. It still amazes me how big our universe is and what really is out there. To think that there are other planets out there that might be able to host life makes me wonder if we are alone? Will my great grand kids, kids be colonized on another planet. Its all just fascinating to me!

    Like

  8. This is so cool because it shows that we have the possibility of discovering habitle planets is still alive. I also like that it explains what the criteria is for being a hospitable planet.

    Like

  9. It’s great to know that further research regarding habitable planets is making the search easier and easier. Without a doubt, a new planet/moon will be found with the right criteria for us to colonize. Now its all about waiting for that day to come!

    Like

Comments are closed.