#7namesfor7newplanets

You can watch the announcement here.
NASA announcement of 7 Earth-like planets

A few weeks after NASA’s big announcement that we have discovered seven Earth-mass planets. As these are only 40 light years away from us, we could conceivably communicate (albeit with a 40-year delivery service). While we’re waiting, lets name them.

From

http://time.com/4682388/nasa-trappist-planets-names/

People are so excited, in fact, that they’re not satisfied with sticking to their scientific names, which run the standard TRAPPIST-1b to TRAPPIST-1h. Naturally, that won’t cut it for the creative types of Twitter—or for NASA, which tweeted out the naming challenge on Friday. The hashtag #7namesfor7newplanets is quickly accumulating quite a collection of suggestions for these alternate homelands, from the Greek versions of our own solar system’s Roman planetary nomenclature to referencing Star Wars, Snow White’s dwarves, popular characters in TV and literature, and more.

You can tweet your names to NASA using the hashtag #7namesfor7newplanets

Comment on this story by leaving your 7namesfor7newplanets below.

67 comments on “#7namesfor7newplanets

  1. I always believed that we were not the only planet in the whole universe that could sustain life. It is exciting to learn about this discovery! Especially since the planets are only 40 light years away! Can’t wait to learn more.

    Like

  2. I like the idea of how there is something out there in the universe that is almost like Earth. I also like how NASA was open minded to the idea of letting people name the seven new planets. I’m excited to find out what the planets will end up being named.

    Like

  3. Wow. A fantastic breakthrough of discovering 7 new planets only 40 light years away. It’s amazing to think in this day and age that technology enables to find other planets that could possibly have life within them. Hopefully as our technology advances we’ll be able to do and see more in the future in space.

    Like

  4. It is really exciting that we have discovered seven new planets. We get to compare everything that we know about the other 8 planets to theses new 7 planets. It will also be interesting to learn things about the new planets that we have not learned about the other 8.

    Like

  5. I’m in awe that we have found 7 new planets. It’s crazy to think that there is always ways to explore. Space is a great place to find new areas to explore! I’ve always wondered how the names of the planets come about, and it’s really interesting that they might name them after the women of Shakespeare.

    Like

  6. Its crazy to think we found 7 other planets, doesn’t actually seem real. Its amazing that we can find other stuff out there. Imagine within the next years will find. I always find it funny the names that they might be calling them.

    Like

  7. Not long ago were we discovering more about our 8 planets, but now we get to discover 7 more, how exciting! I wonder how their atmosphere is like and if there is water on these Earth like planets. It is nice to have the community more involved and get them more excited about this new discovery!

    Like

  8. It is crazy to me that we are still discovering new things in the universe. I hope we are able to find out more about these interesting planets because every time the news gets more and more interesting. I have always wanted to know what life is like somewhere else and what could be going on. The twitter names for the new planets were interesting and some of them made me laugh!

    Like

  9. Whenever the news of these discoveries came out, I was and still am very excited to learn if those planets actually harbor intelligent life. As for the naming of the planets, if (as said in the article) they were named after things in Star Wars, I would be even more ecstatic. Make it happen!

    Like

  10. I think it’s crazy that all the sudden multiple large planets have been found at once! I think it will be interesting to see what names for these planets they come up with. I think using the names of the greek gods and godesses would be cool.
    scarter4@nmsu.edu

    Like

  11. I found this very interesting and fascinating! It’s so exciting to think there are going to be 7 new planets to look at and most likely study about in the future. I think its really important to always continue our exploring and studying of our universe.

    Like

  12. I wonder if these planets, since they are “earth like”, what their atmospheres look like. Are they all the same? Venus is “earth like” but it’s also very different from Earth. I find this very fascinating!

    Like

  13. I really liked the idea of naming them after the women of Shakespeare. That would be really neat and funny to have them named that. I always wondered if there was more out there in space and this confirmed everything I always wondered. I hope more information comes out soon about these planets, I am really interested in knowing if life could survive there.

    Like

  14. This is so interesting! Its really great how we are able to keep discovering new things in the universe with NASA’s technology. I hope we continue to do so and keep educating the world about what lies in the solar system and beyond the solar system.

    Like

  15. By far my most favorite article. When I first found out about the 7 new planets I was amazed. It amazes me that there is so much out there that we still need to discover. I can just imagine what we will find in a few years.

    Like

Comments are closed.