The Hunt for Life #Aurora #Juno

Aurora on Earth are caused by particles from the Sun interacting with our planet’s protective magnetic field. Without that magnetic field on Earth, we would not be here. All life is entirely dependent on the shielding that our magnetic field provides. So if we are to search for life elsewhere, one good way to separate out those planets that may harbor life from those that do not, will be to search for Aurora. Except we’re not at the stage in our technology where we can image planets around other stars well enough to see aurora. So we have to find another way.

Luckily, the aurora also produces radio waves. So instead of watching, we can listen.

ET is not phoning home, but we are hearing the potential for life in our solar system

http://www.wired.co.uk/article/aurora-alien-life-exoplanets-juno-mission

and beyond

http://www.seeker.com/monstrous-aurora-detected-beyond-our-solar-system-1770078107.html

 

77 comments on “The Hunt for Life #Aurora #Juno

  1. I had no idea we could listen to the Aurora, I always just thought of it to be something to see in it’s mysterious awe. The fact that I can now enjoy it with two of my senses is amazing!

    Like

  2. When I thought of Aurora Lights I just thought about beautiful lights never would I have known that they have so much more to them such as sounds. This was great information to find out!

    Like

  3. The Northern Lights are something that has always been very interesting to me, it is something that I most definitely want to experience in my lifetime. It’s very amazing how the northern lights not only emit lights but they also emit sound too.

    Like

  4. The Aurora is really fascinating to me, it’s interesting to see how life can manage to bring beauty from things so scientific. #MagneticFieldsOrBust!

    Like

  5. It has always been a goal of mine to see the Northern lights in person but I never knew that the lights made sounds. That’s awesome that those sounds can help us to find things out about the planets like to detect life. I would have never thought that this would have anything to do with other planets though.

    Like

  6. I have never seen the Northern lights in person, but i have seen pictures of them. I have had no idea that they actually have sound connected to them, let alone be able to help us find life. I thought it was just sun rays hitting the atmosphere and no much more, a pretty coincidence. But to find out there is a lot more to it is very interesting.

    Like

  7. It’s amazing how just a mixture of particles and the light from the sun make something so beautiful and full of colors. I also think that it’s weird of a sound to come from those lights, if sounds like a an alien trying to communicate to us from space. I always knew about the Aurora Borealis as the northern lights and that they were only lights, I never knew it made any sound at all. I love the new things I’m learning about what’s in the universe.

    Like

  8. I think its really awesome how even though we don’t have the technology to see aurora, we can still listen to it by the radio waves it gives off. Also thank god for our magnetic field because without it we would all be toast.
    jake23@nmsu.edu

    Like

  9. It would be truly fascinating to witness the Northern Lights as it is not only an image of multiple colors and movements, but also a connection towards discovering the potential of life outside our world. It is beneficial to understand more about our unique phenomena within our planet as it leads to other otherworldly material.

    Like

  10. It’s amazing to know that we actually just need radio waves and a form of listening to them to find out if planets have aurora. It’s also reassuring to think about the fact that we have discovered yet another characteristic we need to look for when searching for habitable planets. This will surely make finding them that much easier.

    Like

  11. The sound of Aurora was interesting to me. I never knew that we were able to hear something like that. We are discovering life in so many different ways and hearing and seeing about new things just makes this universe even more beautiful and intriguing.

    Like

  12. Bianca Herrera

    I’ve heard about the northern lights here and there but never knew that they even made a sounds. The fact that these sounds are a potential of life is so fascinating. It will be exciting to see the technology advancement in the future that will help us discover even more.

    Like

  13. It is very neat that we are able to listen to the Aurora Lights to see if there is life on other planets. I never would have thought this magnetic power would lead us to searching for other life forms! At same point in my life I will make it to see the Northern Lights. What a beautiful sight that would be!

    Like

  14. Aurora lights are incredibly beautiful. I did not know before that they were anything but pretty lights in the sky. It is incredibly interesting that they can produce radio waves and further that they create sound. What was most interesting of all is that searching them we can detect life in the universe.

    Like

  15. It is very interesting that we can detect life in the universe by searching Auroras. I didn’t know that Auroras also can produce radio waves, so we can listening instead of searching. Although I don’t think listen ET’s message is good for us because we are not sure that they are nice or evil.

    Like

  16. I think it is really interesting how we listen to the radio waves since we can’t see them with our current level of technology. I wonder how the study of planets will change when we are able to produce and use machines capable of looking at other planets far away in detail.

    Like

  17. I have always seen the northern lights in pictures but in real life i bet it would be incredible to actually see it. Sometime in my life i would love to go out there and see them, mark that off my bucket list. Never thought of the Aurora to be another form of life, Interesting.

    Like

  18. I think we should change it from looking for life to listening for life. That seems to be our best tool for the search for life, at least, for intelligent life. I still have hope for life in our solar system, but maybe we should focus on the Galilean moons. Another thins that I’ve often wondered is if we are looking at the dark side of planets and moons. If we were to look at the dark side of Earth, we’d see all sorts of lights.

    Like

  19. Interesting how we cannot see Aurora on distant planets but we can hear them, especially considering I never thought about Aurora having a signal allowing us to channel a sound.

    Like

  20. Tony Luna – tjluna@nmsu.edu
    Seeing the Northern lights has always been on my bucket list! I had no idea they can create sound and connecting life with Aurora lights in the universe is pretty cool and something that Never crossed my mind. Awesome stuff!

    Like

  21. The Northern Lights I believe are one of the most beautiful and fascinating things in the world that I yet to see. Of course, I wasn’t aware of their purpose or what they do rather than just looking pretty. It is amazing how much we can learn and discover more.

    Like

  22. I have never seen the Northern Lights I have always seen pictures, but it’s beautiful. There are so many things I am amazed this earth can do we really live on a crazy planet. With the technology we have there is no telling what’s the next thing we will discover.

    Like

  23. I have always been fascinated by the Northern lights. I have never once stop to think that using Aurora could be another way to detect life, especially by listening to the radio waves of Aurora. It is so incredible to have developed technology that is able to receive these radio frequencies. I can’t wait to see what else I learn!

    Like

  24. I thought Aurora Lights were just pretty lights and that’s all. I did not know that they emit sound and that they could be used to detect life on other planets; they were the last thing I thought would be used for space and planet exploration.

    Like

  25. Seeing the Northern Lights has always been something on my bucket list! I feel like it is almost logical that something so other worldly, can help us to learn about other planets. But to do so by listening: that is crazy!

    Like

Comments are closed.